Posted by: nancyca | September 30, 2008

September 30th, 2008

The last day of September! 2 months and 25 days til Christmas Day! Woohoooty!  I’m ready for the FALL weather and the colors that go with it.  Yesteryday it was 90*…ugh…today low to mid 80’s. That’s better.  But it’s cool right now and we had a touch of sprinkles and I loved it!  I have windows open enjoying the fresh cool air.

Now, let me preface what I’m about to say as it’s MY opinion and if you don’t agree with it that’s your opinion.  You don’t have to post a comment bashing me for my own God given opinion as I’m not asking for it afterall.  Off of soapbox now.

I was on my way home from taking my dd to school this morning.  I was listening to K-Love (which I do love btw) and there was a commercial that came on.  It was someone talking about marriage and then they handed it over to James Dobson.  Now, normally I like Mr. Dobson and the things that he is doing in the world are wonderful.  But something he said this morning in that commercial just sat with me very wrong.  He was saying that a long and lasting marriage only works if the wife is submissive to the husband.  Not to be a doormat, but that she needs to be submissive to her husband or their marriage won’t last or be a good one.  Now, nowhere in this ‘speech’ of his, did he say anything about the husband loving the wife to the point if she’s had a rough day that maybe she could use some TLC, etc…  Again, don’t get me wrong.  I am a child of God and I do think there are roles in the family no doubt.  But for him to say that the marriage solely depends on the wife’s duty to be submissive and not to cause waves with the husband really rubbed me wrong.   I’m truly hoping that the commercial I heard was just an exerpt of a longer speech that he has made.  Have any of you heard this commercial?  I know I heard the entire commercial, so I just wondered if anyone has also heard it and if so if they know if it’s PART of another longer speech or talk that he has made.

I started back on my ASTYM PT yesterday.  It really does hurt like nobody’s business.  But, if it’s going to help, I’m for it.  I also started yesterday doing 1/2 hour at their gym of different leg lunges.  I’m to do them 3-4 times a day.  I’m telling you…if I do them 3-4 times a day (and I’m going to try as hard as I can do to just that), I’ll have the greatest looking legs and butt around! ROFLMBO!! I can deal with that no problem! hahaha

I’ll end today by leaving a writing that a friend of mine posted on my cross stitch group that I just loved.  I hope you enjoy it too.

God’s Embroidery

When I was little, my mother used to sew a great deal. I would sit at her kneeand look up from the floor and ask what she was doing.
She informed me that she was embroidering. As from the underside I watched her work within the boundaries of the little hoop that she held in her hand, I complained to her that it sure looked messy from where I sat.
She’d smile at me, look down and gently say, “Son, you go about your playing and when I am finished with my embroidering, I will put you on my knee and let you see it from my side.”
I would wonder why she was using some dark threads along with the bright ones and why they seemed so jumbled from my view.

A few minutes would pass and then I would hear Mother’s voice say, “Son come sit on my knee.”
This I did only to be surprised and thrilled to see a beautiful flower or sunset. I could not believe it, because from underneath it looked so messy. Then mother would say to me. “My son, from underneath it did look messy and jumbled, but you did not realize that there was a plan on the top. It was a design. I was only following it. Now look at it from my side and you will see what I was doing.”

Many times through the years, I have looked up to heaven and said, “Father what are You doing?” He has answered, “I am embroidering your life.” I say, “But it looks like such a mess to me. It seems so jumbled. The threads seem so dark. Why can’t they all be bright?”
The Father seems to tell me, “My child, you go about your business of doing My business, and one day I will bring you to Heaven and put you on my knee and you will see the plan from My side.”


~~ AUTHOR UNKNOWN ~~

Responses

  1. I have hear Mr. Dobson on submission before…he really means it exactly that way. It’s the ONLY way a marriage will work…that’s one reason I don’t listen to him any more, if he is nuts enough to believe that, then I don’t care what else he wants to say.

    That is just my personal opinion.

  2. I just couldn’t believe it Leigh! He was serious about it being ONLY the women’s responsibility to take care of every whim of the husband. When the husband comes home, the wife is to forget anything she may have gone through and cater to the husband. That is not a marriage in my eyes. And it’s not the way I think that God wants it to be either. That would make wives slaves to their husbands and slavery was outdated YEARS ago.

    HUGS and thank you for your input!!

  3. Good heavens! Makes me want to whack Dobson over the head with the words “compromise” and “mutual respect”. Sheesh! What planet?!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

