Posted by: nancyca | September 20, 2008

September 20th, 2008b

I forgot to say that today is my brother’s birthday today. HAPPY BIRTHDAY WALLY!!  He’s a big 6-2 today.  He’s the oldest of the 7 children and I’m the youngest.  Mom used to always call us the bookends. lol  He wasn’t home today, but I did leave a message on his machine.

Well, since I finished up the stocking today…I started a new piece for Christmas.  It will be for my dd’s Christmas gift.  She’s called SK Flower Fairys Rest.  It is a HAED and I just love her!  I know dd will too.  It’s a Storykeep, so it’s the smaller version of a big piece.  It is stitched on white 25 count jobelan and I had the background removed so that all we will see is the fairy and the flower.  It will be very striking!  Oh…my camera took a really lousy pic of it tonight for some reason and I’m too tired to take another one. lol  The fabric is WHITE and the colors are pinks, purples, mauves, etc… VERY vibrant.  And, although it doesn’t look like there is a lot done, this took me 5 hours to do.  Very tiny and a LOT of color changes.  But oh so worth it! It will be 2 inches wide by 9.5 inches tall.

What it will look like when finished except with a white background:

And what I got done tonight:

Catch you later gators!!

Responses

  1. I love Molly Harrison’s work and that is such a pretty Storykeep. I look forward to seeing updates on this.

  2. Thank you Annette! I really loved working on this and can’t wait til later today when I get to continue working on it!

  3. I love the colors in this piece, Nancy. Great progress so far!

    Kathie

  4. Thank you so much Kathie! I can’t wait to get started on the fairy face! If you know me well enough, you know that if what I’m working on has a face, I have to do that pretty quickly in the beginning or I go crazy! lol No comment from the peanut gallery, huh?

    HUGS!!

  5. well hello!!
    I lost your Blog for a while when it moved, or something?!
    And I saw you had left a comment a while ago and meant to come visit you…now that I’m here and commenting, you won’t get rid of me…LOL

    Thank you for the wonderful comment you left about my mom…..I miss her so very much and today is extremely hard in another way, our dog is undergoing surgery as I type, for a tumor…so I am a basket case today.

    Take care
    hugs
    Marion

  6. Oh gosh Marion. A hard day all around. Prayers for your dog too! They are our children after all.

    HUGS!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

