Posted by: nancyca | September 12, 2008

September 12th, 2008

Let me first say a huge HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my hubby of over 20 years.  I LOVE YOU!!

ASTYM anyone?

Have you ever heard of ASTYM as a PT treatment? Good golly…I am already bruising and he said it would do that and probably turn my leg black!! And, he also said it would be worse the 2nd time around, but as of the 3rd or 4th time it should get easier. I just have to say that it had better!! I am being treated for plantar fasciitis and also a torn achilles tendon (it was torn 9 years ago, but the doc didn’t do anything with it).

I pray that NO ONE that I know will have to have this done. It is so awful that they need to give a bullet to bite on.

Here’s how it goes:

Cocoa butter smeared from the bottom of your knee all the way to your toes (front and back of leg/foot). Then what feels like a metal scraper that you use for putting on spackle (but it’s clear acrylic and looks primeval) comes into play. They literally SCRAPE it up and down the front, back and sides of your leg and on the top and bottom of your foot. They are trying to break down the cross hatching of scar tissue and fluid trapped in the muscles.

Now, I also have fibromyalgia...so you can imagine how that felt to me!!

So, I have 2 next week and 2 the following week. This had better help is all I have to say!

Okay..done whining...whoops...not done yet...I also have had a migraine all day too. Joy oh joy!!

I’m making progress on the b/s on the stocking.  I have all the brown done on the reindeer and I’m almost finished with the brown on the sleigh/santa.  I will still have 4 more b/s colors to go.  Maybe I can get some work done this weekend??

Have a great weekend everyone!!

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Nancy’s DH. Oh my goodness, that ASTYM thingie sounds awful. I sure hope it does some good! Keep us posted on this one, just in case some idiot wants us to do it. You may have to stitch this weekend, you might not be able to walk. (That’s a joke, not a wishing it on you.) But, hey, the cocoabutter is good for you, he he.

    Sorry about the migraine, hope that goes away before bedtime at least.

  2. Happy birthday to the Hub!

    Owie! That “treatment” sounds too painful! I hope it nets good results.

  3. Thanks you two for the wishes to my hubby!

    Leigh, the funniest thing is that after they do all of this, they tell you to do your normal everyday things. Because they want the blood flow to continue normally. Also, they say no ice!! Because it will pool the blood instead of getting it to flow normally. Hmm…

    OH! And I went to DQ and got a small choc shake and within an hour it was subsiding. You have NO idea how grateful I am to you Leigh for telling me about that.

    Today isn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. If it stays where it is pain wise, I should do okay. What scares me is the next treatment is supposed to be more painful and more bruising. EGADS!!

    Thanks again Leigh and Sue!!

  4. I’m wondering how the successive ASTYM treatments went?
    Is your PF better??!!

    Katrina


Leave a Reply

Categories

