Posted by: nancyca | August 29, 2008

August 29th, 2008

Just a couple more days of August and it’ll be SEPTEMBER already!  Goodness…where did this year go??  I think it’s going so fast because so much has happened this year to me and my family and friends.  It is just one of those seasons.  I do pray that 2009 will be better.

I wanted to do a BEFORE the weekend pic of the stocking.  It’s been a few days since I last posted.  I didn’t get as much done as I had wanted to (week before school starting stuff to do), but I have a whole 4 day weekend to stitch (that includes today)!  Here’s as of last night:

Took dd to the oral surgeon yesterday for our consult.  He is the 3rd to agree (dentist and orthodontist are the other 2) that her wisdom teeth have GOT to come out asap.  The bottom ones are up against her back molar roots and the top ones are doing what mine did.  They are coming out sideways and the roots of them are pushing into the sinus cavities.  The surgeon said that the longer we wait the worse pain she’s going to be in (she’s already got lots of pressure) and they are just going to get bigger in size and make it harder to come out.  So, they are going to knock her out (dd doesn’t do good with dentist stuff) and cut her open and take them all out.  She’ll probably have them done in 2 weeks.  The surgeon said that he’ll do it on a Thursday morning and then she’ll have 4 days to do the hardest part of the recovery and then that following Monday she should be okay to go back to school.  He gave me the scripts for it already so that I can go fill them and be ready for her. There are 4 of them.

On Sept 9th I get to take ds to a dermatologist.  My ds was born with a birthmark on his head.  It’s right in front of his left ear and then goes up.  No hair grows there and it was always a yellow bumpy thing.  The day he was born the pediatrician said that it wasn’t a big deal and that when it started changing to take him to a dermatologist and he’d probably have to have it removed.  Each pedaitrician we’ve had since has never said anything about it.  So I figured no biggie.  Then I read someone’s blog who’s ds also had this and they found out that 20-25% of these kids can develop cancer later in life if it is left alone.   THAT scared the begeeebies out of me.  So, that day I made the appointment.  It has just started changing over the past few months.  We know that he started going through the beginnings of puberty about the same time and the things that I read about this say that is when it starts changing.  So, stay tuned for the updates on this.  He is scared to death about going and having it taken off.  But I told him he will be asleep for it.  He said…like I was when I had that tooth out when I was 5?  I said, yes.  He says…OOOH!  That was fun Mom!   My Aspie boy…gotta love him to pieces!!  But, just as long as he does’t see any needles…we’ll do just fine. 😀

I want to ask for prayers for a very dear friend of mine that lives all the way around the other side of the world from me.  I won’t give her name as I haven’t asked her about posting this.  She’s got a serious cancer issue going on with one of her family members and can use all the prayers that can be said.  I thank you for those prayers on her and her family’s behalf.

Hugs everyone and have a super de dooper day!!

Responses

  1. Hey Nancy your stocking is looking great. Sound like you are going through a lot with your kids at the moment. I pray that you will all cope okay with things. Hugs

  2. Thank you so much Annette. We’ll get through it by the grace of God! I think otherwise we’d be going bonkers! lol

    HUGS!


Leave a Reply

Categories

