Posted by: nancyca | August 24, 2008

August 24th, 2008

First, let me say that I forgot to mention in previous posts that as of 8-22-08 at 2am…we have lived here in Oregon 3 years!  My goodness that time has flown by!!  And we’ve loved EVERY minute of it!  We will never live anywhere else.

This weekend I challenged the ladies on my xstitch group to do some marathon stitching.  Now, marathon for me is anything over 1/2 hour as that seems to be about the longest I can get in at a time.  But, this weekend I managed 3 hours on Saturday and 3 hours today.  Here’s before and after so you can see what I got done over this weekend.

BEFORE:

AFTER:

My dd just came in about 1/2 hour ago and told me of a young man’s death.  He was a very sweet young man that made his living by standing out on the main drag in our part of town holding a sign and encouraging people to get Little Ceasar’s Pizzas.  He’s been doing it for over a year and he’s just a staple in town.  She found out he drown in one of the rivers in the town of Detroit today.  How incredibly sad is that?  This was something that could have been avoided.  We have so many deaths by drowning in the rivers here.  We did in CA as well.  All they have to do is wear a life jacket.  It’s that simple.  But I think so many don’t believe it will happen to them.  And that’s the problem.  I feel for this young man’s family.  I’ll miss seeing him on a daily basis out on the sidewalk with his sign and dancing and the same rythmic hand signals that he did.  May you rest in peace Anthony.

Yesterday, dd came with me and I got my hair all chopped off.  It is about 2 inches shorter than I asked it to be, but I really do like it.  It took me 24 hours to get used to it as I’ve always had at least shoulder length hair.  It is now at the top of a shirt collar/chin length.  lol  Dh was shocked.  But he said he really likes it.   It was SO time for a change.  And, if I don’t like it I can grow it back.  But I may just keep it.  We’ll see as time goes on.

If you can say a wee prayer for my Dad, I would appreciate it.  He had an episode in the middle of the night and one this afternoon with low blood sugar.  He is a diabetic and sometimes he forgets to eat.  He is 82 years old and forgets things now and then.  Thank you for the prayers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

