Posted by: nancyca | August 5, 2008

August 5th, 2008

Today started my kitchen getting finished.  2 years ago we laid laminate flooring in almost our entire downstairs.  It looks SO good compared to what it did I cannot tell you (and much easier to clean)!!  Anywhoot…the only thing that was left was getting the border down from above the cabinets in the kitchen and painting there.  The paint literally goes up to that point on some of it. lol  So, today (since it’s 95+* out and humid) seemed like the day to do it.  Dd is at Bullwinkles for a friend’s bday for most of the day and ds is happy as a clam with his ds and watching tv (things he recorded).  Got out my steamer and away I went!  Our kitchen is pretty big, so I decided to get half done today and half tomorrow.  I got about 1/4 done and had to take a break.  This ol’ body isn’t made for climbing up ladders and holding my arms up holding and peeling for more than an hour at a time.  And, it didn’t help that the first part I chose was the part that also went over the stove.  This border has been up since the house was built 15 years ago. Yea…it’s pretty stuck. lol  But, then after I took a 45 minute break, I went back and got more done.  Total I got 2/3 of it done and will do the other 1/3 tomorrow.  Then I can wash down tomorrow as well and paint on Thursday.  YAY!!  Dh will be so surprised to see that I got it done.  He keeps telling me to wait til a weekend when we can do it together….um…2 years has passed???  Don’t think it’s gonna happen honey!  So, here are some pics:


Here’s all I have to do.  You can see I got the first part on the right done.

This is the part on the right that I did first today.

This is the HORRID border.  WHAT was this woman thinking??  Oh yea..it was the early 90’s…

Here’s the rest of that part finished. YAY! Now I only have the left hand side where the fridge and pantry is to do.  PHEW!

I’ve gotten everything all cleaned up and now I’m going to go sit and xstitch on the stocking for a bit before I have to think about making dinner.  Fresh pasta and steamed vegies with parmesan cheese is on order for the night! YUMMY!!

OH!  I got to watch How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.  LOVE IT!  And I highly recommend it too!

Have a great rest of your day all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

