Posted by: nancyca | May 11, 2008

May 11th, 2008

Happy Mother’s Day everyone!

These 2 pics are of women that I absolutely love and adore. The one on top is of my Mom. This pic was taken 2 years ago today. The other pic is of dh’s Grandma taken 2 years ago today as well. Grandma is 4 years older than my Mom. So, I actually looked more to her than my own MIL (she’s another story and there is a HUGE reason why she’s not pictured) as a Mom figure.

I had a dream about my Mom last night. I dreamt that I was in my house and someone told me that my Mom was coming up to my room to see me. I told them that it wasn’t possible as my Mom had passed away 3 months ago. But there was my Mom walking through the doorway. More like shuffling as that was how she walked in the end. I told her that she couldn’t be my Mom and she said yes…she was my Mom. She said that Heaven had allowed her to come down for Mother’s Day to be with me. We both got to tell each other how much we loved one another and I got to kiss her tons! When the time came for her to go, she told me not to worry. She really was okay and that this wasn’t her only visit. That she would be back for another soon. As she left, someone told me that another woman was coming up the walk for me. I looked out the window and it was my Aunt Dot that passed away almost 5 years ago. Then I woke up.

I woke up in tears. Sad and happy tears. I got to hug and kiss on my Mom once again. It may have only been in a dream, but it felt so incredibly real. And I will hold onto that with both arms and my heart.

We had dd’s surprise bday party last night. It was a HUGE success! We had over 20 people there and it went til almost 9:30pm. I was most definitely pooped out to say the least. 3 of her friends spent the night last night and 2 left early this morning to be with their Moms. The other one was from up north and her Mom came and got her early afternoon. We went to church and our church took pics of families for Mom’s Day. We’ll get to pic them up next Sunday. We haven’t had a family pic in forever it seems! I think ds was only 3 or 4 and he’s 10 1/2 now! EGADS!!

I got to take a nice hour nap after lunch. Oh yea! Dh made me breakfast in bed today. Pancakes with fresh strawberries…YUM!! And I got the most heartfelt cards as well. Got me crying once again, but in a good way.

I went and had my eyes checked yesterday. I was 4 months early, but felt that my vision had really changed. I only ever needed distance glasses the past couple of years to read the signs. Well, my far vision got better, but in turn my up close got worse. So, she put me in progressives (because of my astigmatism in both eyes it will make my distance clearer) and I’ve been wearing them for my 2nd day and I’m already used to them. The only thing I’m not used to is wearing glasses all the time. Dh had to remind me to put them on this morning and after my nap. He knows about it as he’s been wearing them for 3 years now.

I also got the news that I’ve started getting cataracts in both eyes. I’m 43 years old and it’s not what I wanted to hear. My parents had them and got surgery to correct them in their mid to late 70’s. She said I’ll definitely be getting it sooner than they did, but not to worry. I just need to keep an ‘eye’ on colors being dulled and things being fuzzy. My sister (who’s 60 and doesn’t have them) said she looked up a lot of stuff online about them and found that it could be my Grave’s Disease that has caused them. Interesting, huh? So, just one more thing to worry about as I get older. But, now that I know, I will just move on and live my life like I always have. Not anything to dwell on.

I pray that you all (that are Mom’s) have had a most wonderful day today.

I want to do a personal shout out to my friend Lani. Bless her heart. She is in Kuwait awaiting transfer to Iraq right now. She has a hubby and 3yo son at home in NY. She just shipped out on the 3rd and will be gone for 18 months. If you can, please put out some prayers for her, her family and her unit. We love you Lani!!

That’s all for today. I’m off to go stitch on that stocking! I’ve surely missed stitching on it, but my hands were aching just too much this past week to do anything on it. I was crocheting on a baby ghan instead. It’s baby blue and white and is the Soft Waves pattern from Jan Eaton’s 200 Ripple Stitch Patterns

Have a wonderful rest of your day…until next time!!

Responses

  1. I just love reading your blog, Nancy. I know what you mean about vision. One of these days I’m going to have to break down and go to the eye doctor myself. I find myself having to hold things back just a little to read them. It must be that 43 thing, ya know? And like you, I think and pray for Lani every day. My heart goes to her and her family as well as all the other servicemen and women who are apart from the families on holidays and every other day of the year. I’m also glad to hear the smile in your posting! Hugs! Kathie

  2. Hey Kathie! So glad to see you!

    I told dh that I turned 43 and my vision went wild! ROFL It’s not too bad though. His is worse. lol The cataract thing really threw me though.

    Big hugs!!!

  3. I’m finally catching up on blogs, and here you go and make me cry. You’re such a sweet friend Nancy and I treasure our friendship. But it’s only 15 months – not 18. Thank goodness! And we can always hope for shorter. . . Thank you for everything!

  4. OH! Was it originally 18 months? I thought that was what it was when you found out. Well, I’m MOST certainly glad it’s only 15. And you bet I’ll be praying for less time!

    Big hugs!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

