Posted by: nancyca | April 13, 2008

April 12th, 2008

Good early evening everyone!  It’s around 7:40pm and it is still daylight out! Woohooo!

I had such a wonderful birthday yesterday!  I got to watch a good horror movie with ds.  I got to do some crocheting uninterrupted.  Dh took me out to our fave Mexican restaurant.  AND the best thing of all was something that my Dad gave to my dh the night before when they had dinner together (dh was in San Jose and drove over to Santa Cruz to be with my Dad).  He brought home my Mom’s diamond wedding ring to me.  My Mom always told me that she wanted me to have it.  It’s the most beautiful ring.  Dad had it cleaned and such to make sure all was okay with it before I got it.   Here are a couple of pics so you can see it.  They are kind of blurry, but I was trying to take the pics quick as my batteries were dying in my camera…


Today was such a BEAUTIFUL day!  And we got a TON done.

I personally cleaned out more of our garage.  I’m still UNPACKING from when we moved in 2.5 years ago.  It wouldn’t have been so bad, but we had stuff from an 8x10x12 foot storage unit that we brought along with us.  Do you know how much STUFF you accumulate in 20 years?!  EGADS!!  After that, I got an old 4 drawer dresser and decided to give it a makeover.  It was an oakish look to it, but I primed first, then painted the dresser white and the drawer fronts a pink color.  I’ll put up before and after pics tomorrow.  I took before pics AFTER I had the drawers out of course. lol  But, you’ll get the jest of it anyway.  I must say that it turned out really cute!  It’s going in my sewing room where I have plum walls and oak trim.  It will be just lovely there.  I’m going to hit goodwill to find me some drawer knobs though.  I was thinking that I want to get all different kinds to make it look really cool.  Well, okay…cool to me anyway.

Dh pulled weeds in the back of the house and the front and mowed front, back and side yards to boot.  The kids had a very productive day.  They went on a bike ride (Noah only made it 3/4 of the way).  Bless his heart.  So, I hopped in the Yukon and went and got him.  I should say that he’s been sick with a head cold for 2 days, but it’s soooo nice out that I didn’t have the heart to tell him to not get out and play.  Yesterday, today and then tomorrow too will be the only nice days we’ve had in such a long time.  Monday the cold and wet comes back.

Dd is feeling better (obviously since she went on 2 bike rides today), but she is napping now.  I really hope this mono is starting to subside.  She is going to go back to school Monday after missing 2 weeks from sleeping.  Poor kid.

Tomorrow is church and then some more organizing in my craft room.  I want to bring in the dresser I just painted today and pull out the other one that I had in there.  It’s just too big.  So, I’m going to put it in the garage in my ‘new space’ and I’ll put stash in it there that I can’t have in the house.

Well, everyone have a most wonderful evening and Sunday!!

Responses

  1. Well, a VERY Happy Belated Birthday!!!!!! Your mom’s ring is gorgeous!!!!
    Take care

    Marion

  2. Thank you Marion! On both accounts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

