Posted by: nancyca | March 30, 2008

What a Saturday we had!

Had a busy morning with my hubby running around. But, this afternoon I watched Pride and Prejudice and then The Holiday. LOVE both of those movies! I need to get to the library and pick up P and P to read now that I’ve seen the movie. I know…I did that backwards, but it’s okay. Just this once. lol

Talked with Dad today after his fall last night. He was off balance (from his anti-seizure meds) and grabbed his wooden HUGE tv shelf thingy and the whole thing fell on him and pinned him under it and the tv. The tv hit him above his right eye and left an immediate bruise and lump. One of my brothers took him to the ER, but all was okay. Not even a concussion. I told him he has a pretty hard head! lol He agreed. He went out to a stage show today with 2 of my brothers and one of their girlfriends. They all had a wonderful time and laughed and laughed. My Dad sounded sooo good! Made me very happy.

I got to stitch on the stocking a bit more today. About an hour. Tomorrow after church I’ll spend most of the afternoon stitching on it. I’m hoping to have it finished by Friday and mail it off to the next person to finish it. That way next weekend I can get started on the 2nd stocking. I’m really having fun stitching this one. I LOVE snowmen!!

Speaking of snow…we have been getting it and hail and cold weather for the past 3 days. It’s to last through tomorrow night and then hopefully start warming up. I must say that I am SO ready for a true spring/summer. Warmer weather and swimming and my windows open and planting…ahhhh…. Sounds wonderful, doesn’t it??

Although, I was at Marion’s blog and saw her kitchen. Well, I only have a bit more of wall paper border to take down and then finish painting in my own. I want to do it now, but I really need to wait til it’s a bit warmer when I can open the windows. Bravo to you Marion!!

Well, it’s just about 10pm here and I’m pooped out! LOL I’m going to go read some on my book ~ Diane Mott Davidson’s Dying for Chocolate. It’s the 2nd in the series. Since Jackie sent me the 3rd and 4th ones, I need to get reading! LOL

Hugs all and have a glorious Sunday!!

Responses

  1. Wow, my name is in your blog! I feel honoured!! (smile)

    Gosh, so sorry to hear about your dad’s fall, but that’s wonderful and amazing that he’s okay!!!

    I have never read P & P….that’s on my “to do” list one of these days.

    As I type this, I’m looking out the window at the snow coming down….this sure has been a snowy winter/spring!

    Anyway, good luck with finishing your kitchen!

    You have yourself a great day and I’m SO happy you visit my blog!!!

    Take care
    Marion

  2. Which P&P did you watch? I noticed the one with Keira Knightly was on TV yesterday, but I purposely didn’t watch it.. even though I love P&P.. I don’t like the KK version. I’ve seen parts of it.. and she just can’t do Elizabeth justice. I don’t care what the Oscar committee thought. Although the actress who plays Lady Catherine is pretty good.

    I do love the A&E version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. The old 1950’s version with Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier is pretty funny.. the costuming in that one is soooo off it’s hilarious.

    There’s a version from 1980 that I haven’t yet seen.. with Elizabeth Garvie and David Rintoul.

    I recently bought a book that pretends to follow Elizabeth and Darcy after their marriage. She has twins. I’m not sure if I like the book or not… it’s a bit racy. Not that raciness is bad.. just doesn’t seem to fit.

  3. I made it!

    wow…I’m glad your dad is all right. It could’ve been so much worse.

    Did you see the ‘new’ version of P&P or the older, British, PBS version? You definitely need to see the PBS one because it’s almost identical to the book and is SO GOOD! I love it. It’s long…like…4-6 hours, I can’t remember which. But just watch it in blocks or on a long, rainy weekend. The book is great, too. I also liked The Holiday…

  4. I watched the one with Keira Knightley. I have to admit I really like her. She is quirky and likes to have fun in her roles. I also liked the guy who played Darcy.

    My dd has told me that I have to watch the P&P that has Colin Firth in it. I like him also so I’m going to put that one on my next in line at Netflix.

    Lori, I’ll definitely be looking out for the PBS one. Can you tell me who’s in that one?

    Hugs ladies and thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

