Posted by: nancyca | November 30, 2007

Thank goodness it’s Friday!!

I don’t know about all of you, but I have had one HECK of a week. I’m glad that today is Friday and that my family will be together this weekend…plus our dd’s best friend for the weekend too!

Dd and her friend have Snoball Dance tomorrow night. It’s the big winter dance for the high schools in our area. There are so many kids that they have to have it at the fairgrounds. In dd’s high school alone there are around 2000 students. Now, there are 5 or 6 high schools in this area that will be attending and they all have between 1200-2000 students. WOW! Talk about a LOT of kids!

It is like a Sadie Hawkins as the girls have to do the asking, buy the tickets, supply dinner beforehand and provide the rides there and home. So, dd and her boyfriend are coming here for a wonderful dinner of homemade beef stroganoff. It’s one of dd’s favorites and we hope one of her boyfriend’s too! Dd’s best friend will be going out to dinner with her boyfriend and his older brother and date. They are all coming back here afterwards to watch movies and then the boys go home around midnight. It’s all tradition I’m told. I also told them that dh will be with them afterwards watching movies. LOL

As I was coming home this morning from taking dd to school…I realized how nice our house is looking with the decorations dh has put up (we put different lights up this year) and then saw something out of place. There are still 3 pumpkins sitting on a table by the front door on the porch looking oh so pretty and orange and still looking like they just came off the vine. But…umm…CHRISTMAS?? lol So, those will have to go today for sure.

This weekend we’ll be putting up our big tree downstairs in the living room. We put up the little tree upstairs last week. I need to also put up the garland that goes on our railing on the stairs and across the hall upstairs. I don’t put it on the hand part of the railing, I put it on the bottom of the spindles and it looks very nice. And no one has to fight with the garland to put their hand on the railing.

Christmas is my favorite time of year. Actually I celebrate Christmas all year long, but I can’t keep up the decorations all year long. My kids roll their eyes after Jan 1st /before Thanksgiving if I’m singing or humming Christmas songs… The kids actually told me the day after Thanksgiving this year that now it was okay and I was LEGAL to start singing my songs again. ROFL!

Starting tomorrow along with the random site of the day, I’ll be posting some sort of Christmas tradition up til Christmas. I think it’s fun to learn of other cultures and such, so it should be fun.

Speaking of the random site of the day….here you go!

50 Awesome Crockpot Recipes to Keep You Warm (and full)

Until tomorrow!!!

Responses

  1. nancy…I just realized I don’t have you on my bloglines…well you are now!!! I’ve been working on all sorts of things and busy with church that I haven’t been visiting too many blogs and/or forums…I’m going to try and get caught up a bit. wish me luck…especially around the holidays!

  2. Hey Lucy! I was out of the loop for a bit, but now I’m back and loving it! I have you on my bloglines and love your posts!

    HUGS!

  3. Sounds like a fun evening for your dd! Thanks for the crockpot recipe link – my brother will be interested, he just got a new crockpot and is looking for something, anything, different to crock!

  4. Your welcome Sue! I love using my crock pot too and I’m looking forward to trying some of those recipes.

    Can’t wait to see them together tomorrow night!!

    HUGS!

  5. Glad to see you back to blogging Nancy. I’m trying to do better myself.

    Thanks for the crockpot recipes. I need to try other things besides, stew and chili.

  6. Hey Maddie! Well, you’ve been pretty busy yourself my friend! I’ll come to you when you need to do it. LOL I always love reading the Cal Pals blogs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

